Who is first governor in Lagos?

In May 1967, Lagos State was created and Johnson became the first governor of Lagos; the state was now composed of the old Federal Territory of Victoria Island, Ikoyi and Lagos Island plus the additions of the Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu and Ikeja divisions.

Who is Lagos governor?

What is the name of former governor of Lagos State?

List of governors of Lagos State

Name Title Took Office
Mr Bola Tinubu Governor 29 May 1999
Mr Babatunde Fashola Governor 29 May 2007
Mr Akinwunmi Ambode Governor 29 May 2015
Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu Governor 29 May 2019

Who is a first governor?

Governor-General of India

Viceroy and Governor-General of India
Formation 20 October 1773
First holder Warren Hastings
Final holder Lord Mountbatten (February 1947 – August 1947 as Viceroy of India) Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari (1948–1950 as Governor-general of Dominion of India)
Abolished 26 January 1950

Is Lagos safe for tourists?

Avoid non-essential travel beyond this area. The level of criminality in Lagos is high and incidents of violent crime, including assaults and armed attacks, have occurred against foreign nationals and in areas frequented by foreigners. Avoid all unnecessary travel after dark.

How old is Nigerian?

1. Nigeria was formed in 1914. The land area known today as Nigeria was formed in 1914 when colonial authorities merged the Northern and Southern Protectorates of Nigeria, to form the amalgamated Protectorate and Colony of Nigeria.

AMAZING:  Does Walmart ship to Kenya?

What is the name of the governor in Nigeria?

List of current state governors

State Governor Took office
Lagos State Babajide Sanwo-Olu 2019
Nasarawa State Abdullahi Sule 2019
Niger State Abubakar Sani Bello 2015
Ogun State Dapo Abiodun 2019

What is difference between governor and Governor General?

Governors-General and Viceroys were the main administrative cogs of British India who saw to it that the “Jewel in the Crown” of the British Empire.

Difference Between Governor-General and Viceroy.

Governor-General Viceroy
Time Periods: 1833 – 1858 Time Periods: 1858 – 1948
William Bentinck was the first Governor-General Lord Canning was the first Viceroy

Who is called governor?

A governor is, in most cases, a public official with the power to govern the executive branch of a non-sovereign or sub-national level of government, ranking under the head of state. In federations, governor may be the title of a politician who governs a constituent state and may be either appointed or elected.

African stories